cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
apmer Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

update slicer with visualization click

I am relatively new to Power BI and have been leveraging as many resources as I can to bring myself up to speed quickly. This is an amazing tool to use for visualizations but it definitely has restrictions that I'm working through. Currently, I am looking for a way to make the slicers on my report automatically update when another visualization is clicked (i.e. single bar on a bar chart). I have edited my interactions so that the slicers are set to filter on changes from the bar chart, but the selections in the slicers still do not update. If I make a change to another slicer, it works fine.

An example of what I am trying to accomplish is as such:

• A bar chart displays the total # of department stores in each city within a particular region.
  • A slicer contains the store names
  • When I click on a city in the bar chart, the slicer should dynamically update to reflect only the stores that are available in that region

Any thoughts of how to make this happen? If it is not a feature already available, is there possibly a workaround through scripting?

3 REPLIES 3
v-yulgu-msft Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Re: update slicer with visualization click

Hi @apmer,

The requirement that to update the slicer according to the selection in another visualization is not achievable. Interaction filters doesn't work from visualization to slicer. For this feature request, you could submit an idea at this page.

Best regards,

Yuliana Gu

Community Support Team _ Yuliana Gu
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
apmer Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor