Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

zguan0923
Frequent Visitor

sumif and filter on two different tables

Hello!

I am new to Power BI and would really appreciate you help on the following question:

I have two tables: Registration Status (Approved, Declined, In Process), and Pipeline (Projected Sales Amount). I am looking for sum of sales amount for each registration status. Thank you!

Registration Status 
Opp IDRegistration Status
123456Approved 
234567Approved 
345678Approved 
456789Approved 
654321Declined
765432Declined
876543In Process 
987654In Process 

Pipeline 
Opp IDAmount
8 REPLIES 8
ceebu
Advocate I
Advocate I

WHen I tried using the same data, PowerBI automatically detected the relationships between these two tables.  The resulting table provides what you want (right hand side)

Screenshot - 4_7_2017 , 1_56_28 PM.png

Thank you Ceebu. I realized what the problem was. The amount field wasn't a direct value in the pipeline table, but a key measure based on a calculation of two fields in the pipeline table. It seems I can't manage the relationships between Registration Table and Key Measures, and when I try to drag amount to different registration status, the amount shows as a lump sum value of all the registration status rather than individual break down of each status. 

What should I do in this case?  Thank you!

I am not able to understand the requirement clearly - If you could securely share the sample data, I can try to find a way.

Hi Ceebu!

Thank you. I managed to solve the problem on linking the data thanks to you suggestion.