Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ThomasDay
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

slicers

Hello,  I'm new to Power Bi and have been doing my homework diligently to avoid asking ridiculous questions.  (Rob Collie's book and started book on M).

I'm stumped though on something I don't see discussed...and need guidance on approach.  I have a file of hospital provider  Files mapFiles mapnumbers (top of chart).  There is one record per provider--6K. The related files contain millions of rows of public data associated with each provider.  Power bi handles these things beautifully--I can make all sorts of tables.  Success!

Now I'm trying to figure out how to add a cohorts capability using the cohorts table on the right above).  The idea is that each provider falls into a bunch of named categories. So for example it's bed size range (<100, 100-200 and so on), it's margin (<0, 1-10%), it's safety rating...an ever expanding list of analyzed categories.  Potentially hundreds.

So, take a look at the cohorts file--there are now three records for each provider.  All told they boil down to the list on the right.  I'd like to be able to create a way to select from a list of groups, the categories of providers to show.  The final table is simply a visual that shows an example with the providers reduced by all the filters.

CohortsFile.PNGThe Groups and categories to pickThe Groups and categories to picka distilled list of providersa distilled list of providers

My question is:  Do I just create hundreds of fields in my provider table and make filters from those OR can has someone created a solution with a "categories" file like I'm trying to figure out?

As you can see, I'm pretty lost--can you help or point me the right direction?

Tom

3 REPLIES 3
nikil
Resolver I
Resolver I