Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SeattleCrime
Helper I
Helper I

simple count by year

I'm an uber beginner with Power BI and do not at all comprehend the expressions, so I'm trying to "drag and drop" by way to just achieve a simple count by year.  Here's the public data source: https://data.seattle.gov/api/odata/v4/tazs-3rd5.

I've been able to publish some interactive maps , but I'm also trying to add some simple counts by year and show YoY changes, etc.  I can't seem to figure this out even after exploring multiple help articles.  For some reason, I thought this would be as simple as dragging the offense and offense_start data into the same visual, but that just creates a pivot list.  Any help greatly appreciated.

SeattleCrime_0-1608048606783.png

SeattleCrime_0-1608047083025.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @SeattleCrime ,

Personally, I wouldn't worry too much about a date tble just yet. You will need one when you want to get into more advanced time-intelligence functions but, for now, you'll probably get along better trying the following:

1) In Power Query Editor highlight your [offence_start_datetime] column and use this button on the ribbon to get a new column that is just the date:

BA_Pete_0-1608050480261.png

This new date column is what you will use as your visual axes. As it's unlikely that many datetime values will align with others in terms of counts, this way you will be agreggating counts over entire days, so you should get more rewarding outputs.

2) You can set any fields that you drag and drop into your visuals to count if you want the easiest/quickest ouput. Just drag the fields to your visual then, on the right in the 'Values' area, right-click on the field you want to count and select the count option:

BA_Pete_1-1608050696682.png