Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hloni
Regular Visitor

shared data location

Hi all

My department wants to get the Power BI PRO license so at the moment I'm playing around Power BI Desktop to get a feel of the program. One of the things I was tasked with finding out is the location of the data that we share. For example, we have a dashboard that we want to share with a client. I understand that the client will be able to interact with the dashboard but will they be getting the data that was used to create the dashboard as well? Does the data for shared dashboards sit on the MS Cloud as it would if we were to publish? The ideal situation would be for us to be able to share the dashboards with clients but to have the data to stay strictly within our servers. Is this possible?

As I hinted, I'm new to this so I hope my question makes sense.

Thank you in advance for the Help.

1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi -

A couple of things here to address:

1) The data location depends on how you are using the tool.   If you create a report in Import Mode, then the data will be extracted from the original data source, and will reside in the Power BI report itself.  If you create a report using DirectQuery mode, then Power BI effectively just acts as a "pass thru", and all the data remains in the original data source.