Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarcoFogale
Frequent Visitor

relationship create a blank with no reason: data is consistent

I'm studying DAX and I created a simple file. I'm having trouble with a relationship that creates an unexpected extra blank, even though the data is super simple and consistent.

This is the dimension table:

table 1.JPG

The column on the fact table is this:

column fact table.JPG

There are no errors, only 5 uniques values and no blank row in both tables. The two columns are about the same data type, without any aggregation set. Whole number, only 5 numbers. Easy-peasy.

But it's not...

I created a one-to-many relationship:

relationship.png

And the slicer on "ID Plats" created using the column on the dimension table shows a blank:

slicer 1.JPG

That is linked to... nothing on the other side:

slicer 2.JPG

slicer 3.JPG

Any idea? Why Power BI creates an extra blank in this case? What does it mean?

Of course, I could just hide the blank by filtering the visual, but I don't want to... I just would like my data to be consistent...

As it's just a simple file I created for studying purposes I can share it if anyone wants to give it a look...

Did anyone have a similar issue? How did you solve it? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi  @MarcoFogale ,

Yes,when you create relationships,those only have values on one side,the other side will return blank.Just as below:

v-kelly-msft_0-1618824185992.png

A workaround for you:

Select the visual>go to filters pane>choose "advanced filtering">"is not blank",then "apply":

v-kelly-msft_1-1618824273403.png

And you will see:

v-kelly-msft_2-1618824290680.png

1.gif

Best Regards,
Kelly

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
MarcoFogale
Frequent Visitor