Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

"either or " logic in filter

Hi 

I am new in PowerBI, currently I am building a report. I have two columns in one table, one column projects have environmental impact: yes,no, blank; another column is multiple selections, but I only need three type of the slections for sustainable projects. 

How do I apply the filter, as long as people fulfilled one of the column, I will be able to selete them.

In PowerBI filter, when there are multiple filters, they can be evaluated by using the AND (&&) , meaning all conditions must be TRUE, so they have to filled in both column, however, I want them as long as filled in one of them(environmental impact or different sustainable projects), they will be filtered in my dashboard.(either or logic)

How do I be able to do that?

thank you so much!

Best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

Sorry for my bad understanding.

You want two slicers, and between the slicers is OR logic instead of AND logic, right?

The solution is to create two seperate tables for two slicers and create a measure as the visual-level filter.

Sample data

vstephenmsft_2-1663750742975.png

Table 2 = DISTINCT('Table'[environmental impact])

vstephenmsft_0-1663750709957.png

Table 3 = DISTINCT('Table'[selection])

vstephenmsft_1-1663750728596.png

Measure is created as

Measure =
IF (
    (
        ISFILTERED ( 'Table 2'[environmental impact] )
            && MAX ( 'Table'[environmental impact] )
                IN ALLSELECTED ( 'Table 2'[environmental impact] )
    )
        || (
            ISFILTERED ( 'Table 3'[selection] )
                && MAX ( 'Table'[selection] ) IN ALLSELECTED ( 'Table 3'[selection] )
        ),
)