Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Megr
Frequent Visitor

"a query on a query"

Dear All

I am quite new at this and hope I am in the correct forum.

Working with my data I have encountered a problem that I hope some of you can help me solve. Fingers crossed.

I am interested in looking at how many houses for elderly people a specific municipality has pr. +80 years old living in that municipality. And then compare this result with that of 5 comparable municipalities.

I have the following three tables 

- FOLK (number +80-year, name of municipality, year)

- RESO01 (name of municipality, year, number of houses, the type of houses)

- Comparison: (name of municipality, and for each municipality the 5 most comparable municipalities)

When I select a specific municipality (Municipality X) I want it to return to me the five most comparable. Based on this I want it to give the number og houses pr. +80 in each of these five municipalities. In this way, I want to make the original choice of Municipality X a source/a dependent factor for the next query. Or as the headlines state make a query on a query, if this makes sense? This must be done in a way where I can choose between different municipalities in my original choice. 

I have succeeded in making it return the 5 most comparable in the headers of a table. But when looking at the data part of the table the values returned are that of the original chosen municipality. What am I doing wrong?

In excel I would probably use a VLookup-function.

I greatly appreciate any tips - Thanks!

NB

I have attached my example it is quite messy - so I appoligize in advance 🙂

https://kl365-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/g/personal/megr_kl_dk/ETxwxLwqhpxFlhsEQfr-sAgB3EIPzN3dS_KLXq9wgr... 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Megr ,

There's a few small things to correct: