Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

powerbi desktop and sql server analysis service

Dear Team,

I am new to pwer bi desktop . One of my client send me a .pbix file for a rework but as soon as I open it in using power bi desktop it says unable to connect to analysis services server.can anyone suggests me a solution as how to open the same.Should I need any other credentials regarding to server?Thank you for your time.

Regards

Rishi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous You would need to have access to the Server/SSAS instance... The easiest approach is probably trying to speak with the client about remoting into a VM or machine in which you have access to the Desktop file. As long as you have permissions on the SSAS instance as well, you should be able to see it then.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
BGZG

Hi,

I am trying to connect SCSM analysis service which is unfortunately om SQL 2008 RS server. I understand that it does not support live connection, but should I be able to use import?  I do not have any error to connect , but I cannot expend anything under DWASDAtabase. I can connect via SQL Management studio and I can browse all data. I asked SQL guys to restart analysis service and sql browsing service but it did not do any good. I am new with power BI, just start it yesterday to do some testing and i think I was able to browse it yesterday.

Sql guys cannot see any error on their side. Any idea?

I thought I posted a new quesstion , I guess I reply by mistake.