Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

jadewind
Helper I
Helper I

multiple value ranges to filter in a page filter field

Hi everyone,

I am new to Power BI and now I face a challenge where I need to have a page filter and specify multiple value ranges. 

For example I need to add "Code" as a page filter, then have only these codes included: 201-239, 401-599. The values in this field can range anywhere between 010 and 999. I don't need any other codes apart from the above two ranges. At the moment I can only make it work for one range, using "Advanced filtering" to "Show items when the value" "is greater than or equal to" 201 "And" "is less than or equal to" 239. I cannot find a way to add the second range. 

As I will have other filters in place so the codes contained in this "Code" field can be quite dynamic, meaning selecting the codes one by one is not suitable in this case. 

Can anyone help please? If I cannot do it in the page filter I am happy to learn other options such as adding a custom column...

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@jadewind so you can have outer AND condition as below,

=IF(AND(AND(TABLENAME(COLUMNNAME) >200, TABLENAME(COLUMNNAME) < 240), AND(TABLENAME(COLUMNNAME)>400, TABLENAME(COLUMNNAME)<500)), 1, 0 )

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @jadewind,

You can also use query editor to achieve your requirement:

Open the query editor, click on filter button and choose between option:

Capture3.PNG

Switch to Advanced mode:
Capture4.PNG 

Add the conditions:

Capture5.PNG

Below formula will general into the advancer editor:
Table.SelectRows(#"Changed Type", each [Code] > 200 and [Code] < 240 or [Code] > 400 and [Code] < 600)

Capture6.PNG

Regards,
Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin