Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

matteddleman
Regular Visitor

monthly revenue based on sale, start and end date

I'm very new to Power BI and trying to learn DAX formulas. I have a table that includes Amount per month, Start Date and End Date. I also have a calendar table. I am trying to create a matrix that places the amount per month in each month that is between the start and end date. For example, below is a picture of a sample data table and the matrix result that I would like:

I've tried the following formula based on other posts I've found, but it only shows the monthly value in the start date.

= CALCULATE(sum(opportunities[Amount by Month (CON)]),Filter(opportunities,opportunities[CON - Start Date]<=CALCULATE(max('Calendar'[Date]))),FILTER(opportunities,opportunities[tac_constructionend]>=CALCULATE((min('Calendar'[Date])))))

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Table.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@matteddleman,

You can perform series of steps in Query Editor of Power BI Desktop and get expected result in Matrix visual.
1.JPG3.JPG

The steps in Query Editor generate the code in Advanced Editor, you can paste the code below to Advanced Editor of a blank query to test.
2.JPG

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WCijKz0pNLjFU0lEyNDAwAFIm+ob6RgaG5kCmmb6xAYQdqwNXagSUMIIoNUMotdA3NsRQagyUMIYoNUcotcRmqgnIZohSC4RSQwOEsbEA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Project = _t, #"Amount by Month (CON)" = _t, #"CON - Start Date" = _t, tac_constructionend = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Project", type text}, {"Amount by Month (CON)", Int64.Type}, {"CON - Start Date", type date}, {"tac_constructionend", type date}}),