Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

missing data in table with no filters

I created a table report in Apr 2020 Desktop version, and reproduced still have same issue after upgrade to June 2020 Desktop version.

Report runs a SQL Server proc which loads a temp table and select from it at the last step for the result set.

In report table it shows some records missing, however rows are present in query editor

1. there is no visualization filter (selecting the table and filters from the view tab - shows 

Column1 is (All)

Column2 is (All)

Column3 is (All)

2. Also there is no report or page filter. 

I already selected refresh in query editor, but it did not fix the issue.

Could it be there are some duplicates? 

I am fairly new to Power BI.

Thank you,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes, you will need some sort of ID that lets PowerBI know that the row is unique.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
jdbuchanan71
Super User
Super User

@Anonymous 

If you assign an ID in SQL do all the lines come in?  You could use ROW_NUMBER to do this, just add the line into the select from the temp table.

SELECT *
	,ROW_NUMBER() OVER ( ORDER BY <one of your columns in the temp table> ) rn
FROM #temp

Then you can pull the rn column into your visual to see that they all come in.  Make sure to set the Summarization to 'Don't summarize' on the rn column in Power BI.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Looks like I have an issue in the datatype, but was not able to figure out. I am probably green in Desktop.

Data query looks good since ordering on LogDate which is datetime is correct and there are 171 records in the result set and looks good . also largest rn is 171.

QueryEditor.PNG

but table report does not look good. (and generates way higher rn as per below.)