Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mpcarpenter
Helper I
Helper I

measures using data from more than one table - can it be done without a calculated column?

I'm trying to create a measure which combines 'quantity' data from one table with 'price' data looked up from a product table. I know I can create a calculated column in the sales table....

PriceLookedUp = RELATED('models'[price]) 

and then make a measure 

TotValueSold = SUMX(sales,sales[PriceLookedUp]*sales[Quantity])

which works OK, but can make a measure that does this directly (ie. without the calculated column)?

Apologies if this  is obvious - I'm fairly new to DAX

Michael

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes you can!  You were pretty much there on your own too!

Try this:

TotValueSold =
SUMX ( sales, sales[Quantity] * RELATED ( 'models'[price] ) )

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes you can!  You were pretty much there on your own too!

Try this:

TotValueSold =
SUMX ( sales, sales[Quantity] * RELATED ( 'models'[price] ) )

thanks - I'd convinced myself I needed something more complex using a CALCULATE function 

[In my original database (of pretend car sales) there was no quantity field (I was assuming the quantity was always 1) and I'd tried...

TotValueSold = SUM ( 'models'[price]  )

which didn't work. What does work, following your suggestion is...

TotValueSold = SUMX ( sales, RELATED ( 'models'[price] ) )

which is interesting as I guess the "SUMX(sales," bit forces it to iterate over the rows in sales, even if no actual fields from the sales tabel are used)

Michael 

Anonymous
Not applicable