Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

fess440
Helper III
Helper III

measure total - hide blank rows but do not affect total

Hi, I believe similar questions have been tackled before but I have not found workable answers yet. Please help.

I have uploaded a simple example here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/crx5heiyhblxsf8/AADVmshkzf11QKfKFveawzQma?dl=0

I use the date slicer to filter the transactions and I need to hide blank rows but I want the total to sum up values since inception.

I'm new to Dax so would appreciate if someone could explain the logic of the calculations.

I'm currently under the impression that calculate(sum([field], all(table[date])) would create a temporary table with all dates and then sum up values, but that's not how it works obviously.

Thanks a lot for your help and time!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello @fess440 

Try adding these two measure.  The first one is just to sum the value in transations so we can us that in the next measure.

Total Value = SUM ( transactions[value] )

The next one checks if it is on a line in the visual where that line is for a singel customer or event and if so returns the [Total Value] measure, the actual filtered amount by date, customer, event.  If not it returns the total of all transactions, the 12286.

Total Measure = 
IF ( ISINSCOPE( customers[name] ) || ISINSCOPE( events[event] ),
    [Total Value],
    CALCULATE(
        [Total Value],
        ALL ( transactions ) 
    )
)

2019-08-04_TotalMeasureFiltered.jpg

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
fess440
Helper III
Helper III

any advise anybody, please? i'm pretty stuck. thanks.

Hello @fess440 

Try adding these two measure.  The first one is just to sum the value in transations so we can us that in the next measure.

Total Value = SUM ( transactions[value] )