Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

orbs
Helper I
Helper I

matrix sort DATE rows while entire matrix is sorted by another column - how?

hello all, newbie here.

i'm creating a matrix visual, with one of the rows being DATE (without year/qtr/month/day hierarchy). the matrix is sorted using one of the columns, so naturally, the "rows" column (the left-most column, containing the dimenstions hierarchy) is not sorted.

now, when i expand the rows all the way into the DATE level (which may or may not be the last level), the dates are obviously not sorted, because the entire matrix is sorted by another column.

my wish is to have only the few rows of the DATE level sorted (in descending order, i.e. latest date first), but leave the rest of the matrix still sorted as it was. how would i accomplish that?

thanks in advance!

13 REPLIES 13
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@orbs , Multiple sorting is not supported on matrix visual. You can log an idea :https://ideas.powerbi.com/ideas/

It's not supported, but you can work around it. 

image.png
Create a measure and return the Amount for the totals. And the dates in numeric for the individual dates. 

Sort by this column, turn off wordwrap for column headers, values and then hide the column:

image.png
Br,
J

Connect on LinkedIn

thank you @tex628 , yes that is what i mean.

but how can i measure differently based on the row? for any row that is not DATE, i can simply return the value of the original sorting column; but how can i detect that the row is a DATE so i can return the numeric value of the date?

tex628
Community Champion
Community Champion

The measure I used in my example is the following:

Measure 2 = IF( SELECTEDVALUE('Table (2)'[Date]) = BLANK() , SUM('Table (2)'[Amount]) , SELECTEDVALUE('Table (2)'[Date]))