Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

hannes86
Frequent Visitor

logical comparison (true/false) on different columns in different tables

Hi there,

up front: I am a beginner in Power BI, DAX and Power Query.

I have the following problem:

Table "auction_results" contains data regarding projects that were awarded a tariff. Some the awarded projects also already have a permit which is a prerequisite to start operations. If this is the case the column "permit_id" contains a unique id. If not, the cell is empty.

Table "permit_data" contains detailed information on every project that obtained a permit for operations. Only some of these have already been awarded a tariff in the auctions. Every entry in this table has a "Anlagennummer" which is the connecting link to the "permit_id".

I have estbalished a n:1 relationship permit_id:Anlagennummer (was the only valid cardinality). My goal is to insert a conditional column named "tariff_status" in the table "Permit Data" that indicates whether the permitted project was already awarded a tariff or not. I tried the whole day at first using power query and afterwards DAX but I failed. In Power Query I did not find a function that equals the RELATED Function in DAX. In DAX I could only use RELATED in "permit_id", I guess because this is the n tables...?

As solution I would have expected sth like:

tariff = IF('permit_data'[Anlagennummer] = RELATED('auction_results'[permit_id]);"Yes";"No")

Out of desperation I also tried it the other way around:

permit_status = IF('auction_results'[permit_id] = RELATED('permit_data'[Anlagennummer]);"permitted"; "not permitted")