Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

dalemoy
Frequent Visitor

line graph - adding additional line based on same table data

Hello community.  

i'm a fairly novice user so please forgive my basic knowledge.

I have a line graph that shows quantity of stock sold every day/week/month/quarter/year which is filtered by a date slicer. 

What I would like to do is have a line added for each year, (2015,2016,2017 etc) so I can see the trends in ordering. 

My data is from an SQL database we have on premise and to keep the functionality the way I currently have it, there are 6 tables that have relationships to each other. 

as far as I can tell, I would need to either add or seperate the data into seperate tables based on date, which would mean I would loose my necessary table relationships. 

please see below for what I currently have, and thank you in advance for any advice/help you can provide.

example.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@dalemoy,

Do you want to add line to the existing line chart representing different years ?If so, create a year column using dax below, then drag the column to Legend of the line chart. There is an example for your reference.

Year= YEAR(Table[Date])
1.JPG

If the above steps don't help, please describe more details about what fields you use to create relationship among the tables and what field you want to add as X-axis of line chart.

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
MikeChicago
Frequent Visitor