Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

pBur
Frequent Visitor

issues with custom hierarchy

Hi guys,

I am a newbie in Power BI world... And I am having troubles with hierarchy for Profit and Loss statement...
Dataset comes from two sources (DB and Excel) and mashes different types of account records into groups. However the formatting of the result should look like this:

Sales Income SUM(Type 1, Type 2,Type 3,Type 4,)
    Type 1
    Type 2
    Type 3
    Type 4
Operational Cost SUM(Type 5....11)
   Type 5
   Type 6
   Type 7
   Type 8
   Type 9
   Type 10
   Type 11
Financial income SUM(12..16)
   Type 12
   Type 13
   Type 14
   Type 15
   Type 16
Financial Expenses SUM(17..21)
   Type 17
   Type 18
   Type 19
   Type 20
   Type 21
Calculation 1 SUBTOTAL(1...21)
   Value 1       number 1
Calculation 2 SUBTOTAL(1...21, result1)
   Value 2       number 2
Calculation 3 SUBTOTAL(1...21, result 1, number 2)

EBIT SUM(Calculation 1, Type 17, Type 14, Type12, Type 7)

In Pivot SUM and SUBTOTAL items would show on top easily, however this is not what I need. And I haven't find a solution in Power BI yet...

Maybe someone has any suggestions on how to overcome this? Let me know if it's clear what I want to achieve 🙂

EDIT: this needs to be in ONE table as this info will need to be exported and stored.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

I'm not sure Power BI (or Power Pivot in Excel) is the best way to create a P&L.  Maybe do the data mashup in Get and Transform (power query) in excel but then build your P&L in the worksheet as it gives you more flexibility to do what you want.  Plus if your goal is simply to export the table, then why use Power BI, which is for authoring reports/visuals?

View solution in original post

pBur
Frequent Visitor