Reply
Regular Visitor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-14-2016
Accepted Solution

if then else

Most languages have a structure that allows multiple conditions to be met in an IF statement, like this:

 

IF condition1 THEN result1 Else If condition2 THEN result2 ELSE result3.

 

Except for DAX. Using DAX you have to nest your IF statements instead, like this:

 

=IF(condition1,result1,IF(condition2,result2,result3))

 

This gets really messy when the number of conditions you require to meet increase to say 5, 10, 20 or more.

 

Can anyone explain why DAX cannot perform 'if then else' and whether it is likely to expand in the near future to be able to do so? Or are there any other tips n tricks to look at here to make it easier?


Accepted Solutions
Super Contributor
Posts: 733
Registered: ‎06-03-2016

Re: if then else

Cool my dear friend.

 

We can do anything in DAX cool.

 

Try this,

 

Measure =

Switch ( True(),

 condition1,"Result1"  ,

    condition1,"Result1"  ,

etc...                     ) 

 

 

let me if any help in DAX.

 

 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Regular Visitor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-14-2016

Re: if then else

Update. 

 

'If then else' is possible in Power BI, but not using freehand DAX. It only seems to be available using menus, like so:

 

Go to Edit Queries

 

Ifthenelse.JPG

 

Then Add Column -> Conditional Column

 

Ifthenelse1.JPG

 

Et voila.... your if then else statements are available...

 

Ifthenelse2.JPG

 

I'm still not sure why you can't just type these freehand in the DAX editor to save you all that menu work.

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,468
Registered: ‎11-25-2016

Re: if then else

[ Edited ]

@B_Real when editing queries you are not in the DAX environment, but in M (a.k.a. Power Query).

These are completely different: Power Query is aimed at getting and transforming data into tables, while DAX is mainly focussed on aggregating data into measures.

However, some tasks can be done in both environments and both environments reside in Power BI..

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)
Super Contributor
Posts: 733
Registered: ‎06-03-2016

Re: if then else

Cool my dear friend.

 

We can do anything in DAX cool.

 

Try this,

 

Measure =

Switch ( True(),

 condition1,"Result1"  ,

    condition1,"Result1"  ,

etc...                     ) 

 

 

let me if any help in DAX.

 

 

Regular Visitor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-14-2016

Re: if then else

 

Measure =
Switch ( True(),
 condition1,"Result1"  ,
    condition1,"Result1"  ,
etc...                     ) 

 

Yaas! Great shout on Switch()! I don't think I need need the True() function here tho, the Switch() function seems to take care of everything:

 

 

SWITCH(<expression>, <value>, <result>[, <value>, <result>]…[, <else>])  

 

 

Also cheers for pointing out difference between DAX and M. Here's a link that describe the difference in more detail:

 

http://stackoverflow.com/documentation/powerbi/6980/power-query-m-and-dax-whats-the-difference#t=201...

 

Essentially:

 

First you use M to query data sources, clean and load data. Then you use DAX to analyze & visualise the data in Power BI. 

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,468
Registered: ‎11-25-2016

Re: if then else

So as a rule of thumb: Smiley LOL

 

if extract then M if transform then (if not aggregate then M else DAX) else DAX

Specializing in Power Query Formula Language (M)
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-24-2018

Re: if then else

Hi Bhaskar,

 

can you help me with this query how to achive with DAX.

 

IF [repair information ] = "Repeat Repair"

THEN

IF COUNTD([VIN]) / TOTAL(COUNTD([VIN])) > 0.1
THEN round(COUNTD([VIN]) / TOTAL(COUNTD([VIN])),4) END

ELSE

IF COUNTD([Strata Claim Id]) / TOTAL(COUNTD([Strata Claim Id])) > 0.1
THEN round(COUNTD([Strata Claim Id]) / TOTAL(COUNTD([Strata Claim Id])),4) END

END

 

any quick response would be appriciated.

 

Regards,

Ram.

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: an hour ago

Re: if then else

I tried to use the above query but not excusted.

 

I wanted to split the condition into the three different statement.

 

  • Avg time from purchase request[PR->DATE1] to Inquiry floated to supplier(active request)[TENDER->DATE3] (days) 
  • Avg time from {Inquiry floated to supplier}[TENDER->DATE3] to {Commercial approval done [TENDER->DATE10] (days)}
  • Average time from Commercial approval done[TENDER->DATE10] to PO issue [PO->DATE4](days).