Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

how to load from a source based on min/max values of another already-loaded source

I am fairly new to Power BI.  I come from a very heavy Qlik Sense background.

I am attempting to source from 2 SQL Server tables.  One is a fact table, of which I want all of the rows.  The other is a date (dimension) table, of which I only want those dates (rows) between the min and max dates in my fact table.  This way, when I create slicers and such, I don't have unnecessary dates appearing.

In Qlik Sense , the usual solution is to first load the fact table, compute and load its min/max dates into another table, set variables from this other table, load the date dimension table based on the min/max variables, and finally drop the temporary table so that it doesn't stay in the model and cause problems.  This seems like the most efficient solution to me.  How can I achieve this in Power BI?

I found this solution, but it seems inefficient, as it creates 2 queries (instead of just 1) for the min/max and it performs the dimension table filtering after all rows have already been fetched from the source.  (In my particular case, this isn't too bad.  But, it could be problematic in other situations.  I would expect an efficient solution to use something like query folding / pushdown optimization.)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous you can turn off Data loading the model, just right click on the query, and uncheck Enable Load.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo