Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gotmike
Frequent Visitor

how to create a query that paginates?

I'm working with the Hubspot CRM API and when you query for a list of all deals, you only get 100 records at a time, and they want you to send subsequent queries with an "offset" to paginate the results.

For instance, if you send:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo

at the very end of the query, you see the following JSON:

"hasMore":false
"offset":27939158

so, if hasMore is true, the NEXT query should look like this:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo&offset=27939158

and then, we would want to repeat the process until hasMore comes back with false.

i'm completely new to power bi, so would love to know how to handle this type of query process.

in another language, this would just be do { } while (hasMore == false);

or something like that...

214 REPLIES 214
Kalyankumar
Regular Visitor

Hi Mike I am also looking solution for the same problem

Anonymous
Not applicable

qwe

Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting the total number of results and paginating are two different operations. For the sake of this example, let's assume that the query you're dealing with is

SELECT * FROM Orders WHERE OrderDate >= '1980-01-01' ORDER BY OrderDate

In this case, you would determine the total number of results using:

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM Orders WHERE OrderDate >= '1980-01-01'

...which may seem inefficient, but is actually pretty performant, assuming all indexes etc. are properly set up.

Next, to get actual results back in a paged fashion, the following query would be most efficient:

SELECT  *
FROM    ( SELECT    ROW_NUMBER() OVER ( ORDER BY OrderDate ) AS RowNum, *
          FROM      Orders
          WHERE     OrderDate >= '1980-01-01'
        ) AS RowConstrainedResult
WHERE   RowNum >= 1