Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gotmike
Frequent Visitor

how to create a query that paginates?

I'm working with the Hubspot CRM API and when you query for a list of all deals, you only get 100 records at a time, and they want you to send subsequent queries with an "offset" to paginate the results.

For instance, if you send:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo

at the very end of the query, you see the following JSON:

"hasMore":false
"offset":27939158

so, if hasMore is true, the NEXT query should look like this:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo&offset=27939158

and then, we would want to repeat the process until hasMore comes back with false.

i'm completely new to power bi, so would love to know how to handle this type of query process.

in another language, this would just be do { } while (hasMore == false);

or something like that...

214 REPLIES 214

Hi ImkeF,

I have a similar issue to others in the thread.  I just cant seem to get my query to paginate.  I've done some initial exploring/research which will hopefully limit the amount of effort needed to solve this.  I'm very new to power BI and have little coding experience so any help would be appriciated.  Below is the code I've been playing around with (I've removed my token):

let
 iterations = 20,
 url = "https://az1.qualtrics.com/API/v3/mailinglists/ML_cwQxQJJ5adc1YyN/contacts", 
 FnGetOnePage =
   let
    Source = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://az1.qualtrics.com/API/v3/mailinglists/ML_cwQxQJJ5adc1YyN/contacts", [Headers=[#"X-API-TOKEN"="my token here"]])),
    data = try Source[result][elements] otherwise null,
    next = try Source[result][nextPage] otherwise null,
    res = [Data=data, Next=next]
   in
    res,

GeneratedList =
  List.Generate(
   ()=>[i=0, res = FnGetOnePage(url)],