Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

gotmike
Frequent Visitor

how to create a query that paginates?

I'm working with the Hubspot CRM API and when you query for a list of all deals, you only get 100 records at a time, and they want you to send subsequent queries with an "offset" to paginate the results.

For instance, if you send:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo

at the very end of the query, you see the following JSON:

"hasMore":false
"offset":27939158

so, if hasMore is true, the NEXT query should look like this:

https://api.hubapi.com/deals/v1/deal/all?hapikey=demo&offset=27939158

and then, we would want to repeat the process until hasMore comes back with false.

i'm completely new to power bi, so would love to know how to handle this type of query process.

in another language, this would just be do { } while (hasMore == false);

or something like that...

214 REPLIES 214

Hi Grant,

please check out this code:

let
Pagination = List.Skip(List.Generate( () => [Last_Key = 0, Counter=0], // Start Value
   		each  [Counter]<4, // Condition under which the next execution will happen
   		each [ WebCall = Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://api.capsulecrm.com/api/v2/parties?page="&Text.From([Last_Key])&"",[Headers=[Authorization="Bearer WAWjGWU6Kbl4o9TeGMRw5i52+kvSiz9xfQe+vNTxlcjw61R7RZYa4HxvdT8TSlDG"]])), // retrieve results per call
     			Last_Key = [Last_Key]+1,
     			Counter = [Counter]+1,// internal counter
     			Table = Table.FromRecords(WebCall[parties]) // steps of your further query
     			//Value = #"Converted to Table"{0}[Value] // last step of your further queries
                      ] 
   		,each [Table]
) ,1),
    Custom1 = Table.Combine(Pagination)
in
    Custom1