Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mrothschild
Continued Contributor
Continued Contributor

help with unflattened data

I'm new to BI and I've really twisted my head in knots here.  To try to implement best practices, I'm moving from a flattened data table (from Excel) to unflatten my data to make it more efficient and theoretically ease future programming.  

This measure from my flattened data produces desired results:

CALCULATE(
    SUM('FlatTable'[Base]),
    ALLSELECTED('FlatTable'[Asset ID]),
Filter('FlatTable','FlatTable'[Count]>0),
FIlter('FlatTable','FlatTable'[Count]<'FlatTable'[Lease Term (months)])
)

In my unflattened data, I have Asset ID linking two tables: SummaryInput and AssetReturn.  From above, [Base] and [Count] are on the AssetReturn table, but [Count] resets at 0 for each [Asset ID] and counts up to the highest number = [Lease Term (months)] 

[Lease Term (months)] is on the SummaryInput table, but not on the AssetReturn table.  

So I'm trying to figure out the right GROUPBY, SUMMARIZE, FILTER, etc. to arrive at the result I'm trying to achieve, which is the sum of all [Base] except for 0 and the last associated period for a given [Asset ID], i.e., if the data was like below, the desired output result measure would produce 100.5 = sum (3*10 + 5*12.5 + 2*4) 

Another way to think about this is to return a value of (150 + 200 + 65), which is a conditional MAX function on [Count], but it's the MAX only associated with a given [Asset ID] as opposed to the entire column.  Or, I assume, but haven't figured out how, I could re-flatten the data within Power BI, to add a column with [Lease Term (months)] to below and then compare [Count] and [Lease Term (months] as I did originally, but I assume that just moves me away from best practices again.

Asset IDCountBase