Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

pureswing
Frequent Visitor

help with two formulas from EXCEL to use in queries

Hello guys, here again looking for help. I've been using for months two excel formulas without problems. Now I want to go one step ahead and use it directly in power query but I'm still a novice in M lenguage, the folrmulas in cuestion are :

=IF(A2<>A1,B2,C1 & " / " & B2)

and: 

=IF(A2<>A3,CONCATENATE(C2),"")

And example of the result of using both formula:

OrderDesign=IF(A2<>A1,B2,C1 & " / " & B2)=IF(A2<>A3,CONCATENATE(C2),"")
5666MAR-324MAR-324MAR-324
6987EVE-001EVE-001 
6987EVE-012EVE-001 / EVE-002EVE-001 / EVE-002
8012LAT-101LAT-101 
8012EVE-001LAT-101 / EVE-001 
8012LIN-005LAT-101 / EVE-001 / LIN-005LAT-101 EVE-001 / LIN-005
9823MAR-310MAR-310MAR-310

the final step would be a filter row on column D to eliminate blanks rows.... I appreciate any help please Smiley Happy

By the way, sorry if this might be a dumb question but I wonder if there is any web or blog with information on how to "convert" excell formulas to M language using real escenarios ??(for dummies xd). It happens that I don't have time to read for 3 hours everytime I am stuck with a formula so it wold be great to find some information similar to this: 

FuntionExcelPower QueryResult
IF ExampleExample Obtaining the same result

Regards, Liu

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Just group by order, defining some dummy operation (e.g. Max) for Design, and then adjust the code to have the ext combined.

As follows:

let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Order", Int64.Type}, {"Design", type text}}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Changed Type", {"Order"}, {{"Result", each Text.Combine([Design], " / "), type text}})
in