Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Nausikaa

help rearranging data

Hi

I am new to power bi and need some help from you (probably this might be a stupid question)

I have data that is arranged this way:

datenamebuddy
1/05/2021XY
31/05/2021AB

and want to transform it to:

dateName
1/05/2021X
1/05/2021Y
31/05/2021A
31/05/2021B

How can it be done?

regards,

Nausikaa

4 REPLIES 4
Nausikaa

Hi,

many thanks for your help, did not quite give me the result I was looking for because in my case there were even more columns, but in the end it set me in the right direction and could figure it out myself.

regards,

Nausikaa

Hi @Nausikaa ,

Could you Accept my post as the solution to make the thread closedif it makes sense to you? More people will benefit from it.

Hope to hear from you😀

Best Regards,
Eyelyn Qin

v-eqin-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Nausikaa ,

I have done it in two ways, hope it could help you :

1. In Power Query:

• Select date column -->Transform--Unpivot Other Columns-->Remove Attribute column --> Rename Value column

In power query.PNG

• Here is the whole M code:
let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WMtQ3MNU3MjAyVNJRigDiSKVYnWglY2RhRyB2UoqNBQA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [date = _t, name = _t, buddy = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"date", type text}, {"name", type text}, {"buddy", type text}}),
    #"Unpivoted Other Columns" = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(#"Changed Type", {"date"}, "Attribute", "Value"),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Unpivoted Other Columns",{"Attribute"}),
    #"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Removed Columns",{{"Value", "Name"}})
in
    #"Renamed Columns"