Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

sunb1
Frequent Visitor

getting value from one table to another by matching two columns (data tables not directly related)

Hello -- I'm new to Power BI and i've been working at this forever now and can't seem to get it. I have to data tables, one is a list of M&A deals and one is a list of fees charged. These two tables do not have a relationship with eachother in my query veiw, but they are both connected to teh same lookup tables. I need to get the fee data from Data table 2 by matching it two columns of Data table 1. How do i do that? Thanks for your help!!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

To share upload pix or other file to file share site like drop box, one drive, etc. then share from that service and paste link here.

The file I listed connects data from two tables. You can have more than one bridge table. The measures don’t have to be numeric as in my examples. And if you need to lookup one value in the other table in prefer to perform a column calculation you can use RELATED or LOOKUPVALUE to get it

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
sunb1
Frequent Visitor

Hi again - I"m not sure I'm understanding the solution here. Here are some sample data:

Table 1:

ACQUIRER        ACQUIRERcik        TARGET      TARGETcik          TransactionYear

ABC                         1                      FiveStar           6                            2018

FDD                         3                         OneStar         7                             2019

CCC                         5                         TwoStar          8                           2017

DDD                          2                      ThreeStar         9                              2016

ABC                         1                        FourStar            11                         2015