Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

blndspt
Frequent Visitor

fighting many to many with a bridge

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to Power BI.  I've built embedding and done alot of modeling, I'm still just not that good with visuals yet.  I have a very simple set of 3 tables that include a many to many relationship with a one to many hanging off the end.  I've setup the bridge correctly, but when I try creating a simple matrix visual from beginning to end, that last one to many table causes the dreaded 'fix this'.   I sincerely apologize in advance, but can someone tell me why this doesn't work?

2019-11-07_13-20-33.png

As you can see, the psudo-hierarchy starts on the left with organizations.   There is a simple bridge to location2, in which case many orgs can have many locations and vice versa (hence the bridge and the many to many).  Now, I can make a simple matrix visual with the org name then the location name, and it works fine.  However, when I add the terminal name from the last table it no longer understands the relationship.  Shouldn't I be able to make a matrix visual with org name, then location name, then terminal name?

In general data modeling, this is not an uncommon scenario!  Does PowerBI only allow for traversal of 1 set of relationships when a bridge table is in the mix?

Thanks everyone.

Scott

3 REPLIES 3
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User

@blndspt wrote:

In general data modeling, this is not an uncommon scenario!  Does PowerBI only allow for traversal of 1 set of relationships when a bridge table is in the mix?

So the data engine can handle this ok, the issue here seems to be with the query generator in Power BI. The only work around I can see is to add a measure to the table visual.