Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ppgandhi11
Helper V
Helper V

dynamic grouping question.

Hi, I am very new to power bi, i think the task i am undertaking is too big. Here is what I want to do. I need some good start point.

I have a table with 2 columns. Products and sales. 1:many relationship (each product can have >= 1 rows). I am able to create a measure to get the product and total sale for it using group by.

Product   TotalSale

100         30000

101         20000

102         50000

:

:

Please note, the above is a measure and it prints correctly. I want to add a column to it with a logic:

If the TotalSale is >= 30000, call it high sale, otherwise call it low sale.

Product    TotalSale    Classification

100           30000          High Sale

101           20000          Low Sale

102           50000          High Sale

:

:

For this, I have created a look up table with 2 rows:

Group          Min    Max

Low Sale      0        29999

High Sale    30000  100000

I don't know how to achieve the 3rd column.

Finally, I need to create a tree map with only 2 classification: High Sale (collection of all the products that fall in this category) and Low Sale (collection of all the products that fall in low sale category).

How to achieve this? Am I on right path? I believe in order to achieve tree map with 2 classification I need additional 3rd column that tells me High/Low Sale.  Thanks bunches. Prashant-

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hmmm, I may misunderstanding your case since I don't know your data structure. My suggestion is provided based on the following scenario.

There is a Product -> sales table like this. One product could have several sales value.2018-03-15_15-35-08.png

Then created a new table using the following Dax