Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

sqlguru448
Helper III
Helper III

distinct count of active customers for each month

Hello Folks,
I am new to PowerBI & Dax, please bear with me for any silly question.

I am trying to calculate Distinct active customers for each month.

I have customer table with Customer key, join date key amd term date key. I have date dimension table too.

Customer Table
Customer key join date key Term date
1. 1/1/2017 5/31/2017
2. 3/1/2017 3/31/2017
3. 3/1/2017 5/31/2017

my monthly active customer count should look like

Month Count
Jan 1
Feb 1
March. 3. since all customers are active
April. 2. since 1 and 3 are active
May. 2 since 1 and 3 are active

Any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Update: Customer table has around 65 million records, above is just the sample.

Thank you.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
ChandeepChhabra
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

@sqlguru448 Hi

To get to the solution I did 2 things

1. Created 2 realtionships and
  2. Created 3 measures

Here is how the relationships are setup between - Customers Table and Cal Table

Relationships.PNG

Both Join Date and Term Date have been related to Date in the Cal Table. Since 2 date columns are related, Customer[Join Date] with Cal[Date] is currently active

Here are the 3 Measures

1. Cumulative Distinct Count Until this Month = TOTALYTD(DISTINCTCOUNT([Customer Key]),Cal[Date]) It will give you the distinct cumulative count of customers until the current month

2. Terminations Until Previous Month = TOTALYTD(CALCULATE(DISTINCTCOUNT(Customer[Customer Key]),USERELATIONSHIP(Cal[Date],Customer[Term Date]),DATEADD(Cal[Date],-1,MONTH)),Cal[Date]) It will give the cumulative count of people who left until last month