Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MonkeyBoy

date no hierarchy

Complete beginner question. Using Power BI Desktop, connected to a SQL Server database with a database datetime field called ReferenceDate. On the Modelling tab, this field shows as a "Date" Date Type and the formatting is showing the date format I require. All is good.

However when I drag that field into the Axis field, it doesn't create a hierarchy. I've read that hierarchies automatically appear for date and/or time fields but it's not working for me. Am I missing something?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sorry, by Tabular I was referring to SSAS (SQL Server Analytics Services) or basically a cube. Although a cube is not actually Tabular. In any event, the question was directed toward whether or not you were using DirectQuery. I highly suspect that is the issue. Using DirectQuery puts a fair number of limitations in place. I just tried this with a simple SQL database table and it worked just fine. I suspect that if you import the data versus use DirectQuery that it would work just fine.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm having the same issue!

I introduced another query with the name date as I wanted to create a relationship between two tables that were completely different from each other. By bridging them with a familiar set of data such as the date column, I could collect data from each of them.