Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kevin_wright
Regular Visitor

daily sales v monthly target by sales team

Hi All

Im a newbie at powerbi and trying to hash together a sales report for my employer. Im specifically stuck on getting the sales (which is a list of daily activity) to compare against a monthly target for different teams.

It keeps bringing in the monthly target as a straight line across the months when put into a column and line graph (when it actually varies month to month)

Source of data is excel.

Tables:

Date table – used DAX to create every single date between 2018/04/01 and 2022/03/31 (Date = CALENDAR(date(2018,04,01),date(2022,03,31))

Also used DAX to create a month column in the same table (Month = format('Date'[Date],"mmm-yy")) ,  but that repeats for every single day (so its not a unique entry when trying to create a 1 to many table relation on the month)

Sales table – contains date (linked to date table), territory, product type, qty of product, price per product, order number, freight, discount, total sales value for order etc This has a row for every transaction every day so nothing is unique.

Product Types - list of unique product types which I link to sales table (product type field) so I can report on product groupings

Territory – list of unique territory names which I link to sales table (territory field)

Territory Target –contains a column for territory (there is about 6 territories), month, target, and a cumulative target

Eg

Team1,  apr-18, 10,000, 10,000

Team1, may-18, 12,000, 22,000

Team2, apr-18, 8,000, 8,000

Team2 may-18, 9,000, 17,000

Etc..

So territory and month are not unique as they repeat for each month of the year.