Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mcraven1845
Frequent Visitor

custom function creates but expression error when add column/invoke custom function getting

I created a custom function to get the Year part of a date and then use that custom function inside of another more complex function.  Both functions create successfull but when I try to add column, invoke custom function it gives me 

An error occurred in the ‘FYR1’ query. Expression.Error: We cannot convert the value #date(2019, 7, 1) to type Function.
Details:
Value=7/1/2019
Type=Type

I'm new to this M language but I have had experience in programming.  Your help is appreciated!

Here is the complex function

let FYR1 = (CYR,UpgradeRpDate,CurrentMaint,UpgradeCost) => if CYR([UpgradeRpDate])="TRUE" then [CurrentMaint]+[UpgradeCost] else [CurrentMaint]
in FYR1

thanks in advance for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello, Thank you for your offer to help.  Chris Webb from Cross Join was able to help me.  I'll include the solution below for others to benefit from.

The correct and successful function is as follows - 

let Fiscalyr1 = (UpgradeRpDate,CurrentMaint,UpgradeCost) => if Date.IsInCurrentYear(Date.Year(UpgradeRpDate))=Date.Year(UpgradeRpDate) then

CurrentMaint+UpgradeCost

else CurrentMaint

in Fiscalyr1

I was using square brackets incorrectly in the original one.  You use square brackets when you’re calling the function because you’re getting values from the various columns on the current row. Inside the function, however, you’re working with function parameters and not columns on a row in a table.

This is now a solved issue.  thanks again for reaching out to help!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @mcraven1845,