Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

BIXL
Resolver I
Resolver I

create new table with partial columns from another table in dax

Hi

I wonder if there is a way to create a table in dax that is the same like another table but with less colmun.

for example :

table "A" has "col1","col2","col3"

I want to create table "B" with just "col1","col2"

thanks

17 REPLIES 17
Imran10

Hi, the following should work when creating a new table:

tableB = ALL(tableA[col1],tableA[col2])

jo_at_price
Advocate II
Advocate II

This solution does not work with sharepoint lists. It works with SQL, though.

leahYan
Advocate II
Advocate II

I am not a pro power bi user. I think I find out an easy way to solve your problem if we are facing the same problem. 

TABLE B = 

SELECTCOLUMNS(CALCULATETABLE( TABLEA,FILTER(TABLEA,TABLEA[col1]=x)),"col1",'TABLEA'[col1],"col2",TABLEA[col2])

Consider the duplicate rows, you can wrap a "DISTINCT" on the formula as below"

TABLE B = 

DISTINCT(SELECTCOLUMNS(CALCULATETABLE( TABLEA,FILTER(TABLEA,TABLEA[col1]=x)),"col1",'TABLEA'[col1],"col2",TABLEA[col2]))

what is that "x", make it simple bro! I didn't understand your dax function.

JohnDawson
Frequent Visitor

I see what @SqlJason is saying but it seems a bit crazy to bring in two tables by query twice, once with one set of columns and once with another, call the second import of the tables SelectedColumns1 and SelectedColumns2

In my case I wanted to use EXCEPT to find rows in SelectedColumns1 not in SelectedColumns2; this requires the two tables have a) exactly the same number and type of columns, and b) the right columns to produce the required result i.e. no identity type columns