Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

create a table from a power bi dataset

Hi,

I'm still a novice and have an issue which is difficualt to explain

I have a data set for my work that gives me reasons why people are leaving the business I work for. Te way to data is presented is there are 14 reasons why people leave. Each reason is is a data column with the heading being the reason. The data in the columns are either blank, 1, 2 ro 3.

blank = was not a reason

1 = number 1 reason

2 = number 2 reason

3 = number 3 reason.

Looking at these 14 columns I have consolidated the reasons why people are leaving by creating 3 calculated columns

No. 1 Ranked Reason - this column finds the number 1 ranked reason in the 14 columns

No. 2 Ranked Reason - this column finds the number 2 ranked reason in the 14 columns

No. 3 Ranked Reason - this column finds the number 3 ranked reason in the 14 columns

From here I want to create a simple table within Power BI desktop

Column 1 heading would be "Reasons for leaving" and would be a consoldiated list of reasons (so only 14 rows). no duplicates

Column 2 heading would be "ranked 1" and would count how many times the reason was ranked 1

Columns 3 & 4 would be the same as above for 2nd and 3rd rankings

Is there any way to create this table please as I have trying researching. By doing thise I can have consolidated visuals my staeholders.

Thank you

7 REPLIES 7
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

You can duplicate the table and remove other 26 columns and then use unpivot  function  to UNPIVOT the data in Edit Queries like this:
51.png

now it don't effect basic table.

Best Regards,
Lin
Community Support Team _ Lin