Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

PowerBiDD
Frequent Visitor

countrows YTD

Hello,

I'm very new to powerbi and to this forum. My apologies upfront if I place this in the wrong section or if the question has been answered already. Even with the help of likewise posted messages I can't get my measure to work.

I have a fairly easy dataset consisting of 3 tables.

- A download of all incoming mails in 2017

- A download of all incoming mails in 2018

- A table with unique dates, months, month-names and year

I have created a column chart with an easy count function by month and now I wish to make a YTD chart in which the number of emails are adding up per month. In both mail tables there is a date received column, so there should be an easy way to count these, but I don't seem to get it done.

My best effort wa:

YTD 2018 = CALCULATE(COUNTX(Mail2018;DATESYTD(Mail2018[Received])))

Hope you can help me with this.

Thanks a lot.

8 REPLIES 8
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

HI @PowerBiDD,

Please share some sample data to help use clarify your data structure.(please do mask on sensitive data before sharing)

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

Hi Xiaoxin,

I hope you can open the following link. In the line chart is now the number of received emails by month. I would like to make that a YTD chart.

link to pbix file

Many thanks in advance.

Regards

HI @PowerBiDD,

I can't view your report from hyperlink. Maybe you can share some sample data/pbix file for testing.

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.

Hi Xiaoxin