Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

surfingjoe
Helper I
Helper I

count number of customers per month where customer can buy multiple products, multiple times

I am a newbie to Power BI. I've solved a lot of my questions with this forum, I hope to solve one more .  I can't seem to find the answer to this problem, anywhere, even though I'm sure its a common calculation.  It could be so simple, I'm not seeing the obvious answer, if so I hope someone answers anyway.

Basically I'm using SQL Query that pulls the data from multiple tables with the relationships already designed into the query.

I'm pulling in customer ID from customer table.
Product name, Product Order #, product quantity, product order date and time from Order table.

Each row will have the customer id, product name, QTY and order date and order number.  If a customer orders more than one product, then the customer ID will show up in each row for each product ordered.

I want to know the number of customers per month. I have been using distinct count of customers using a matrix by order date to calculate customers per month.  Distinct count allows me to count the customer once even though the customer orders multiple products.  Got that, but not quite accurate.

If a customer orders 5 times within a month, then I would like that to count the customer 5 times.  A distinct count will count that customer once, not sure how to distinctly count the customer for multiple products and also count the customer for multiple orders.

My question is, how can I count the customer only once when there are multiple products, but count the customer again if the customer oders products multiple times within a given time period?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION