Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

convert XML query to a table

Hello!

I'm fairly new to power bi. My goal is to set up a query to our CRM to look at our data. I believe I was successful in doing so. I chose web under the get data option, and this is what it returned: 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/547vjuf9gp2v9gt/power%20bi%201.PNG?dl=0

I believe the query is working, but I want it to convert the XML response into a table that looks something like this:

RecordID	ActivityCreatedDate	ExpectedInstallDate	InvoiceTxnDate
23063	        2018-12-11T19:00:00	2018-12-19T19:00:00	2018-12-13T19:00:00

I only specified one record in my URL to see if something like this is even possible. My data will have a lot more entries.

If this doesn't make sense, please let me know and I will clarify.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

hi, @Anonymous 

For your XML has multiple levels tables, so you need to do these steps as below:

Step1Step1Step2Step2Step3Step3

Result:

4.JPG

and here is M code, please try it.

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("dZJRa8IwFIX/Ssi7a9LiNgdFZDrIQBhb36wPMbloICbSxNr9+8Wlm61WCHk4557vhnuzWuHySEgmps1eoxoqp6zJS0wfSIkRGGGlMtsgnJSR9uRGNB2nwZn+piBml+B3Vs4+GKrAHaxxgHJU4q+jEOBcqF7y5hOEraQ7629cOyjxLYEZD9uK+/AEVPCNhvzspk8z4VWt/Pe73TAPexfVNm8QiozY4aL2dTaPTpqRxywaSd/pZv46vlbAPch5uNo4oc9hBiNKCzp5ISScFnY30uUumgOI4DLjPNd6gDu55t6NdLnM1FYJKBozgMyukUPVlzkm/UG24s2GuutL/n9AVPF6/QM=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [#"Element:Text" = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Element:Text", type text}}),
    #"Parsed XML" = Table.TransformColumns(#"Changed Type",{},Xml.Tables),