Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

comparing current year with last year

Hi guys,

I am new to power bi i want to compare the current year with Last Year. I am Having data from 2017 january to 2019 November.

I have connected through Live Cube data. I have used a formula 

Current Year = CALCULATE (SUM ( 'Table1'[TotalAmount] ),FILTER (ALLSELECTED ( 'Table1' ),FORMAT ( 'Table1'[Date], "YYYY" )= FORMAT(MAX('Table1'[Date])),"YYYY"))))

Last_year = CALCULATE (SUM ( 'Table1'[TotalAmount] ),FILTER (ALLSELECTED ( 'Table1' ),FORMAT ( 'Table1'[Date], "YYYY" )= FORMAT(EDATE(MAX('Table1'[Date]),-1),"YYYY")))

But when i click the Year filter say 2018 i must compare the 2018 and 2017 values but instead the Last year value becomes blank. I have tried using SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR Function also but the same issue is obtained. please help me with it and provide me a solution.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-joesh-msft
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous ,

Replace ALLSELECTED in the formula with ALL to see if it works, or you can try the following measure:

Current Year =
CALCULATE (
    SUM ( 'Table1'[TotalAmount] ),
    FILTER ( ALL ( 'Table1' ), Table1[Date].[Year] = MAX ( Table1[Date].[Year] ) )
)
Last_year =
CALCULATE (
    FILTER (
        ALL ( 'Table1' ),
        Table1[Date].[Year]
            = MAX ( Table1[Date].[Year] ) - 1
    )
)

If it doesn't meet your requirement, kindly share your sample data if you don't have any Confidential Information. Please upload your files to One Drive and share the link here.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Joey
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-joesh-msft
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @Anonymous ,