Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Yet another cardinality issue (one to many)

I'm new to Power BI, but not to cardinality. I've been trying to link two tables, which are both a dump from our database. Table 1 has a field which is BY DEFINITION unique. It can not contain duplicates, because our system refuses that.

The other table can have zero, one or multiple rows for the same item.

So it is a clear case of 1-to-many.

Yet, PBI keeps forcing me to use a many-to-many relationship. I've tried making my own table with less data, that worked fine. But on the real data...nothing....

why?

Is it because table B has some fields which contain no data (for instance "end date" isn't always applicable -yet-)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Can't filter the NULL value in Power Query Edit in Table 1? I don't think this value will be used in your fact table.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution! Appreciate your Kudos!!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-alq-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @Anonymous 

Normally, Power BI Desktop can automatically determine the best cardinality for the relationship. If you do need to override the automatic setting, because you know the data will change in the future, you can chagne it with the Cardinality control.

You can manage how Power BI treats and automatically adjusts relationships in your reports and models. To specify how Power BI handles relationships options, select File > Options and settings > Options from Power BI Desktop

b1.png

For further information, please refer to the document .

Best Regards

Allan

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Well...