Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bmbyrnes
Frequent Visitor

YTD vs PYTD by month

I know there have been a ton of solutions on this but I've tried many of them with no luck. Obviously I'm pretty new to PowerBI.

I'm trying to compare current YTD COGS vs LYTD COGS. My data is organized by month from Jan 2017 to March 2020.

YTD COGS = CALCULATE(SUM(AIT_RAW_Monthly[COGS Monthly]),'Calendar'[Date])
PYTD COGS = CALCULATE([YTD COGS],SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR('Calendar'[Date]))

Even the following expression returns just 2020 YTD (Jan, Feb, March).
YTD COGS = CALCULATE(SUM(AIT_RAW_Monthly[COGS Monthly]),CALENDAR(DATE(2018,1,1),TODAY())

Below are some screenshots of my data. My relationship is YearMonth between COGS table and Calendar table.

Am I missing some relationship between MonthYear to actual date in the calendar table?

8 REPLIES 8
v-shex-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @bmbyrnes,

Maybe you can take a look at following link about use date function to manually define filter range and rolling calculate, it should more suitable with irregular date records:

Time Intelligence "The Hard Way" (TITHW) 

Regards,

Xiaoxin Sheng

Community Support Team _ Xiaoxin
If this post helps, please consider accept as solution to help other members find it more quickly.
Anonymous
Not applicable

The date table generated from your code in Dates_Dim runs from 12/1/2018 - 10/31/2019. Using time intelligence functions with a date table that does not cover the full years can give you wrong answers. Try changing your Dates_Dim code to the following.

Dates_Dim =
ADDCOLUMNS(
CALENDAR (
DATE ( YEAR ( TODAY() ) - 1, 1, 1 ),
DATE ( YEAR ( TODAY() ), 12, 31 )
),
"Day", DAY ( [Date] ),
"Month", MONTH ( [Date] ),
"Month_name", FORMAT ( [Date], "MMM" ),
"Year", YEAR ( [Date] )
)

amitchandak
Super User