Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

YTD Running Total - Date Table

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Power BI and have read through the forums and guided learning but am still having difficulty solving the problem YTD. 

I tried to use a date table but can't seem to create a relationship to my table that works. The data I have looks something like the table below. I've used a clustered chart to show for each month (axis), the total amount (value) for each ledger (legend). 

How do I get the clustered chart to show the cumulative amount for each ledger. So on my clustered chart for February I have the comparison YTD for each ledger? 

I've tried to create a date table but can't get it to work with the period numbers (I don't have actual dates in the data only the period number). Because I also have multiple ledger for each year it's difficult to add a column with YY + MM and make it unique. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

LedgerPeriodAmount
17 Actual11000
17 Actual11500
17 Actual2500
17 Actual31000
17 Actual3700
18 Actual1500
18 Actual21000
18 Actual2500
18 Actual22000
18 Actual3600
18 Budget11000
18 Budget11000
18 Budget21000
18 Budget21000
18 Budget31000
18 Budget31000
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Anonymous
Not applicable

In the modelling tab of the menu ribbon there is an area for Data Formatting.  Set the date column's data format into something preferable.

Alternatively, since you created a date table, if you have a month column, you could make use of that column.  If the ordering is wrong, create a month number column in the date table and use the "Sort By Column" option (also modeling tab) whilst you have the month name column selected.  Choose Month Number as the sort column.

View solution in original post

Anonymous
Not applicable

14 REPLIES 14