Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

bchandl7
Frequent Visitor

YTD Measure not working properly

Hello,

I am very new to Microsoft BI, and I have a problem I am trying to solve. I have a measure that I have created to calulate sales amounts based off a fiscal year column:

FY15 Sales Amt = CALCULATE(
SUM('Sales'[Sales Amt]),
FILTER( 'Sales','Sales'[Fiscal_Year] = (Max('Sales'[Fiscal_Year])-2)))

This is taking the Max fiscal year which is currently 2017 and subtracting 2 to show 2015 numbers. So far, this works except for one wrinkle. Our current fiscal year is at 5/26/2017 and ends on 6/30. I would like to see the previous years as ytd numbers to compare apples to apples.

I have tried:

FYTD15 Sales = TOTALYTD(SUM('Sales'[Sales Amt]),dCalendar[Date], FILTER( 'Sales','Sales'[Fiscal_Year] = (Max('Sales'[Fiscal_Year])-2)), "6/30")

When I use this, nothing is returned but blanks. Also, dCalendar[Date] in the expression is using a created date table. 

Any help with this would be appreciated!

Ben

7 REPLIES 7
bchandl7
Frequent Visitor

It looks like the following has gotten it down to the correct fiscal year month.

First I created a Fiscal Month expression:

FiscalMonth = (If( Month('Sales'[date]) >= 7  , Month('Sales'[date]) - 6,Month('Sales'[date]) + 6 ))

Then I created a max fiscal year month expression:

Max_FY_Month =
CALCULATE(
MAX('Sales'[FiscalMonth]),
FILTER(ALL('Sales'), 'Sales'[Fiscal Year]=MAX('Sales'[Fiscal Year])
))

Finally I updated the FY15 Sales Amt expression as follows:

FY15 Sales Amt = CALCULATE(
SUM('Sales'[Sales Amt]),
FILTER( 'Sales','Sales'[Fiscal_Year] = (Max(Sales'[Fiscal_Year])-2) && 'Sales'[FiscalMonth] <= 'Sales'[Max_FY_Month] ))