Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

frank_88
Frequent Visitor

Wrong measure total and bridge table

Hi guys,

I am a newbie to Power BI and I believe this is a simple issue but I am running circles now and need some help. 

I have a fact table (F_ACTIVITIES) that lists tasks made everyday by employees. Tasks can be done in solo or duo. So in fact table there is a column ID_EMPLOYEE_RESOURCE that is linked to the bridge table setup.

F_ACTIVITIES is linked to D_EMPLOYEE_RESOURCE by ID_EMPLOYEE_RESOURCE

D_EMPLOYEE_RESOURCE is linked to D_EMPLOYEE_BRIDGE

D_EMP^LOYEE_BRIDGE is linked to D_EMPLOYEE

I have a simple table that lists the number of tasks for each employee, number of working days, and a tasks/day ratio. This table has a lot of classic slicers (month, day, team, type of task, etc).

The employee name comes from the D_EMPLOYEE table and all the other measures are from the F_ACTIVITIES table. 

On a row by row basis, everything is ok. I get the correct nb of tasks, and the correct nb of working days. However , the totals are wrong because some tasks are done in duos and they count as 1 record in the fact table. So to give you a simplified exemple I have this situation : 

Name                       NB days     NB Tasks

Employee A solo           1                 3

Employee B duo            1                 4

Employee C duo            1                 4

Employee D solo            1                 2

----------------------------------------------

Total                               3                 9

I can't figure out how to get the proper totals (4 and 12). There must a way, no ??

Any help would be very appreciated !!!

Thanks in advance

Francois

5 REPLIES 5
v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @frank_88 ,