Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ek2112
Advocate II
Advocate II

Writing dynamic values in a table to a new calculated column

I am a Power BI newbie here.  Below is a table of timelogs from time entry system. The objective is to compute their profitability based on the projects they work on.  "Daily Cost" column contains the cost to the company (8h x $40/h = $320). So even if the employee logs less than 8h/day, cost to the company is the same, i.e, $320. SOW Rate column provides the rate per hour by project. I am trying to use CALCULATE and FILTER functions to get just the first value of "Daily Cost" column (instead of the way it repeats right now), write it to a separate column (lets call it "Distinct Daily Cost"), grouped by name "Name" and "Work date". Table 2 is the end goal. 

Table 1 source:

NameWork dateIssue NumberWork TimeBilled TimeDaily CostWeekendProject NameSOW RateRevenue
JB01/04/18Ticket-111320FalseP1140140
JB01/04/18Ticket-222320FalseP1140280
JB01/04/18Ticket-2411320FalseP1140140
JB01/04/18Ticket-1922320FalseP1140280
JB01/04/18Ticket-140.50.5320FalseP2200100
JB01/05/18Ticket-211320FalseP1200200
JB01/05/18Ticket-40.50.5320FalseP2200100
JB01/05/18TIcket-60.250.25320FalseP220050
JB01/05/18Ticket-440.50.5320FalseP310050
JB01/05/18Ticket-320.50320FalseP31000
DN01/11/18Ticket-5440320FalseP31000
DN01/11/18Ticket-2122320FalseP4200400
DN01/12/18Ticket-1111320FalseP4200200
DN01/12/18Ticket-411320FalseP2200200

Basically, write the first value of the "Daily cost" column into "Distinct Daily Cost" column and keep other values as zero, as shown below:

Untitled.png

I could get this by COUNTIFS and IF in excel but for the life of me, could not get this to work in DAX. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sorry the measure was incorrect