Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Writing an IF statement referencing a column, not a measure

I have a table(Part Number Master) with a column titled "BOM".  The results in that Column is either null or B.

I currently have the following measure locted in the Part Number Master table:

Order = (((sum('Part Number Master'[TOTAL DAYS LEAD TIME])/7)+2.8)*'Part Number Master'[Avg Weekly Consumption])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Hand])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Order])

I want to make a change to the measure were if the part number has a "B" in the BOM column, change the formula to "+3.8" instead of the current "+2.8". Something like this:

Order = if('Part Number Master'[BOM]="B",  (((sum('Part Number Master'[TOTAL DAYS LEAD TIME])/7)+3.8)*'Part Number Master'[Avg Weekly Consumption])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Hand])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Order]),(((sum('Part Number Master'[TOTAL DAYS LEAD TIME])/7)+2.8)*'Part Number Master'[Avg Weekly Consumption])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Hand])-sum('52 Week Consumption'[On Order]))

The problem is when I type =if(.........it will not allow for a column entry, it only allows me to select other "Measures".

Basically, if the part number BOM column has a B, I want to order an extra week's worth of inventory.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

4 REPLIES 4
v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Anonymous,

In addition, using FIRSTNONBLANK Function (DAX) should also work in this scenario. The formula below is for your reference.

Order =
IF (
    FIRSTNONBLANK ( 'Part Number Master'[BOM], 1 ) = "B",
    (
        (
            ( SUM ( 'Part Number Master'[TOTAL DAYS LEAD TIME] ) / 7 )
                + 3.8
        )
            * 'Part Number Master'[Avg Weekly Consumption]
    )
        - SUM ( '52 Week Consumption'[On Hand] )