Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

learningdax
Frequent Visitor

Writing Rows in a Calculated Table From Flat Data, and Building a Line Graph with the Results

Hi,

I'm new to writing dax in Power BI, and I have a need to convert hard data that looks like this into a monthly line graph going out from the task finish date to the number of months in the savings duration column. These are all hard columns from tables except the monthly savings, which is a calculated column (Savings / SavingsDuration).

IDTaskFinishDateSavingsSavingsDurationMonthly Savings
18-054/15/2019 5001241.67
18-025/1/2019322840.25
18-0271/1/20193001225
18-01087/1/2019220012183.33
18-00510/4/20191621213.50
18-0296/3/20191201120
18-02723/1/20196101610
18-02442/1/2019-51811-47.09

For example, the first savings row (projectidentifier 18-0599-00) starts April 15, 2019 and goes out 12 months with the monthly savings of $41,167 (5/15/2019, 6/15/2019, 7/15/2019, etc through 4/15/2020).

Each project ID could represent a seperate line, with a total line or something like it.

I've been at this several days attempting to create a calculated table that add rows based on the number of months in the SavingsDuration column, and then using the calculated table fields in visual, but I guess I just don't know dax well enough to get this done.

Any help on this, even helping me define the approach, would be greatly appreciated.

Thank  you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ChrisMendoza
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

@learningdax -

See if this gets you close to what you're going for:

let