Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Irubataru

Working with tables inside of tables

I am fairly new to Power BI and I am currently exploring whether this is the right tool for me or not. Doing that I have quickly realised that it seems to be very hard to work with three- (or more) dimensional data. I.e. I have a table where one of the columns contains a table for each of the row. In these situations I find it very hard to work with this data and I was wondering what the correct syntax is for this if it is even possible.

Say for instance that I want to add a calculated column to a nested table for every row of my main data-table, how would I go about doing that?

To be slightly more specific, say I have a table where column "SubTable" is a tabular value which has columns "A" and "B", and I want to construct a column "C" = "A + B" for every row of my main table. I am in general just curious about these types of problems. Ideally I would also want to work with four- and five-dimensional data if that is possible. If I try to use the Power Query Editor it seems as if I can only edit the tabular value of a single row.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

do you mean something like this?

let
    Source = #table({"SubTable"}, {{[A=1,B=11]},{[A=2,B=12]}}),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(Source, "C", each [SubTable][A]+[SubTable][B])
in
    #"Added Custom1"

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Thank you for the kudos 🙂

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have the same type of issues it is a bit different. in my case, I import data from MongoDB which has nested tables in each record because of this whenever i import the data into power bi I am facing issues with this data format and building analytics on this data.

Stachu