Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Workaround for a slicer with AND logic

Hello everyone!

Hope you are doing fine and are healthy!

I am a novice at Power BI and DAX, but unfortunately I got to deal with pretty advanced stuff right of the bat.

There are two datasets:

• The whole base structure, which has the folders and measures and shows the hierarcy (for example,
    • Folder "Client"
      • Folder "Client Orders"
        • Measure "Last Order"
      • Measure "Client Number")
  • The data with all the reports, which has the reports' names and measures used within them and the name of the folder each measure belongs to (for example, Report "Client Info by Client number" has measures "Client orders"/"Last Order" and "Client"/"Client Number"

After a quick work with initial data, I got the tables in the spreadsheets, which looks like this:

Capture.PNG

The most painful for me here is finding a way to create a baby between filter and slicer: I need the report to show a list of reports according to user measures' selection.

• Filter does not give the functionality I need; if I choose any measure from (for example) Level3, the filter would automaticaly exclude everything else. Also - only single selection is possible.
  • Slicer, on the other hand, uses OR logic and adds all reports, which have at least one selected field, not only reports which include all selected items.

Ultimately, I strive for the next results:

• In case user selects Measure1.1, the report will show the next "Report Name": Users, Orders, Products:

ex1.PNG

• if user selects Measure1.1 and Measure1.3, the report will show: Orders, Products

ex2.PNG

• and if user selects  Measure1.1, Measure1.3 and Measure1.5, the report should show Products

ex3.PNG