Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sophie63
Helper I
Helper I

Where to create a new measure?

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner with POWER BI and I am trying to understand all the concepts and how the tool is working. I have several different tables in my model, each of them linked by a relationship. And I would like to create a report using differents colums in each of the different tables. Inside this report I am creating measures to do calculation between all those columns. However I don't know how to structure the whole thing, where should I create the measures? In which table? In a new calculated table? Which difference does it make?

See below, I created my measures in the Business Units Table but I could have done it elsewhere...Capturetest.PNG

Thanks for helping!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

This is really a preference on your part, measures can be created in any table. Some people tend to create them in the primary fact table that the measure deals with, other people create a new table just for measures. Because of how measures work, it really does not matter what table you create them in.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

This is really a preference on your part, measures can be created in any table. Some people tend to create them in the primary fact table that the measure deals with, other people create a new table just for measures. Because of how measures work, it really does not matter what table you create them in.

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM